The Division of Music at Jacksonville University is pleased to host the Seventh Annual Electroacoustic Barn Dance, a three-day festival of electronic music and art, to be held November 8-10, 2018 on the campus of Jacksonville University in Jacksonville, Florida. This year’s festival will feature Nick Photinos, cellist; Tony Steve, percussionist; Chris Creswell, bass trombonist; and Edith Moore-Hubert, pianist. Composers are encouraged to submit solo works only for the consideration of the featured artists.

The Electroacoustic Barn Dance strives to create a balanced event of contemporary electroacoustic music from the diverse range of composers and presenters who submit, regardless of the age, race, gender, sexual orientation, or nationality of the composer or presenter.

The Division of Music at Jacksonville University fosters a community of engaged performers, pedagogues and entrepreneurs within the framework of the liberal arts setting.  Our students and faculty are critical thinkers, collaborative artists and community ambassadors.  We prepare our students (pre-professionals) for life long success in the evolving field of music in the 21st Century.


Nick Photinos, cellist, is a founding member and co-Artistic Director of the four-time Grammy Award-winning chamber music ensemble Eighth Blackbird. Formed in 1996, the group performs 50-60 concerts annually throughout the world and has been featured at the 2013 Grammy Awards, on CBS’s Sunday Morning, Bloomberg TV, and frequently in the New York Times. Recent accolades include being named Musical America’s Ensemble of the Year for 2017 and the inaugural Chamber Music America Visionary Award in 2016. Highlights of the 2017-2018 include their debut with the Philadelphia Orchestra in Jennifer Higdon’s concerto for sextet and orchestra, On a Wire; debuts in Milan and Turin, Italy and Budapest, Hungary; performances with Cincinnati Ballet; and performances across 11 US States. The 2016-17 season included debuts in Paris, at Justin Vernon’s (Bon Iver) and Aaron Dessner’s (The National) Eaux Claires Festival, with the San Francisco Symphony, a three-week return to Australia, as well as shows with indie-folk artist Bonnie Prince Billy (Will Oldham) and world premieres by Holly Harrison, Pulitzer Prize-winner David Lang, and Ned McGowan. In June 2017 Eighth Blackbird launched their annual summer festival, the Blackbird Creative Lab, a tuition-, room- and board- free chamber music festival. The ensemble has held multi-year residency positions at the Curtis Institute of Music, the University of Chicago, and currently holds an ongoing Ensemble-in-Residence position at the University of Richmond.

As a solo artist, Nick has toured with Björk, recorded with Wilco on their Grammy-nominated album The Whole Love, and recorded with Autumn Defense on their album Once Around. He has performed and recorded with numerous jazz artists including vocalists Sheila Jordan, pianist Laurence Hobgood, violinist Zach Brock, and bassist Matt Ulery, with whom he has been featured on three albums. He has also served as section cellist with the Canton and Columbus Symphony Orchestras and the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra. He teaches at the Bang on a Can Summer Festival every July in North Adams, MA. Nick is a graduate of Northwestern University, the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, and the Oberlin Conservatory of Music. He has recorded for numerous labels including the Cedille, Nonesuch, New Amsterdam, Greenleaf, and Naxos labels. His debut solo album, Petits Artéfacts, featuring never-before recorded works by some of the most acclaimed names in new music, including David Lang, Andrew Norman, Bryce Dessner, David T. Little, Angélica Negrón, Florent Ghys, Molly Joyce, and Pascal Le Boeuf, will be released on the New Amsterdam label in late August, 2017.

Tony Steve (b.1959) teaches percussion and composition. He has performed with the Jacksonville Symphony (member 13 years), Israeli Festival Orchestra, Glimmerglass Opera Orchestra, Hartford Symphony, North Eastern Pennsylvania Symphony, Greenwich Symphony, and Bridgeport Symphony as a percussionist. He has toured with “A Chorus Line” in Europe, appeared in Korea as marimba soloist with the Brooklyn Percussion Ensemble, and performed as percussionist at Madison Square Garden for “ A Christmas Carol”. In addition, he has worked with Henry Mancini, Lou Rawls, Sheri Lewis and The Xaiver Cugat Orchestra. As a recording artist he has appeared on numerous recordings. The latest is performing the music of Robert Moore with Karen Adair on her solo release. The work “Sonnets from Assisi” is for marimba and soprano soloist in three movements. Other recording include, Release with Free Range, and Midnight Clear with Bob Moore. His works are published by Keyboard Publications. He is a Mike Balter Mallet artist. Professor Steve has also won numerous ASCAP writers awards and his music is performed in America as well as Europe and Asia.

Chris Creswell is an accomplished trombonist, composer, and educator currently living in his hometown of Jacksonville, FL. Chris has enjoyed the privilege of performing and recording with many of today’s top pop and jazz artist including Mariah Carey, John Pizzarelli, Maceo Parker, Tom Kubis, Will Smith, Arturo Sandoval, and many more. Chris is an in-demand composer writing custom arrangements and original compositions for marching band and jazz ensemble and is currently distributed by Jalen Jazz Publishing, and Marching Show Concepts. He has directed bands at the Orange County High School of the Arts in Santa Ana, CA (2000 – 2005), Orange Park High School in Orange Park, FL (2005 – 2008) and Fleming Island High School in Fleming Island, FL (2009 – 2012). Chris has been the Director of Athletic Bands, and instructor of low brass at Jacksonville University since 2012.

Edith Moore-Hubert earned the Bachelor of Music degree in Piano Performance from Birmingham-Southern College in Birmingham, Alabama, and the Master of Music degree in Piano Performance from Manhattan School of Music. She previously served on the faculties of Florida State College at Jacksonville, Birmingham-Southern College Conservatory of Fine Arts, the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and has been affiliated with Jacksonville University’s Division of Music since 2006. She is currently Director of Music at Christ the King Catholic Church, where she directs adult, handbell, and children’s choirs, chant ensemble, cantors and instrumentalists for over 150 services per year.

Ms. Moore-Hubert has performed as harpsichordist, pianist and organist for numerous music festivals, chamber music series, regional and national conventions, opera productions, and choirs throughout the eastern US and Europe. She has also performed as a hospital musician, providing music at the bedside, in dialysis and psychiatric units, and as Artist-in-Residence at UF/Shands Jacksonville. As Coordinator for Mayo Clinic Foundation’s Humanities in Medicine programs, she supervised the rollout of Music at the Bedside, and established the Mayo Clinic Arts Outreach Ensemble. For three years Ms. Moore-Hubert directed Evenings of Art and Music, a monthly arts program for adult residents of the I.M. Sulzbacher Center for the Homeless.